I believe

part 1 can be found here

 

“I’m starving Jean, what time is my next appointment?” I shout as I head through reception. “twenty minutes and you have a telephone consultation in fifteen” Jean called back. “Great, I can’t believe how behind I am. I’m just going to the garage next door for a sandwich”

As I reach the door it flies open catching me full on in the face sending me backwards crashing to floor. In rushes an old scruffy guy who steps over me as he shouts that he needs help urgently. Turning onto my knees and about to push myself up,   I catch sight of a jewelled buckle attached to a purple suede boot out of the corner of my eye just a second too late as it’s owner crashes through the door behind the guy. I duck but not fast enough, she hurtles straight into me and falls onto me then crashes onto the floor by my side. “Oh no, I don’t believe it. Not you again”

It seems to me that this woman is fast becoming the bain of my life. Not only does she have a habit of knocking me over but she is usually accompanied by some poor animal who she just happens to have found needing emergency care. I stand up quickly and hold my hand out to help her up. She shoves me away and scrabbles around on the floor attempting to push herself up. “Oh for goodness sake woman” I bellow as I bend over and pick her up by the arms. “Never mind her what about the bloody dog” screams the old guy at the counter as Jean reaches out to take the bundle from him.

Jim she calls, I think that you better take a look. I head over and lift the little guy from her and realise that it is Tinker who belongs to Jean, he had been missing for a few days after the last incident with Purple Boots woman and he was rather worse for wear. “Wait there the pair of you. DO NOT I repeat DO NOT go anywhere do you hear me” I shout as I point at Purple Boots. “I need to speak to you”.

After a quick examination and a cuddle from Jean I establish that Tinker is fine if not a little weary. No broken bones, which was more than could be said for the ginger tomcat. Just a little shocked and perhaps more than a little hungry after his adventures.

Wandering back into reception I find Purple Boots and Old Guy sitting patiently and looking rather perplexed. “So, what happened this time” I look square on at her and she slides down the chair looking sideways at the Old Guy.  “She was just making wishes on dandelions when she was interrupted by your girl’s dog there” says the Old Guy. I look from him to her and notice she has slumped further into her seat and is rather pink. “Wishes?  on dandelions? Really? And did it work?” I fire  the  questions at her. “It doesn’t happen that fast” she mutters under her breath  “and besides, even if it has worked I wouldnt be telling you now would I?”

“So who are you?” to the Old Guy

“Nobody special, My names Will I was crossiing the marsh when I spotted your friend here in a spot of bother and thought I should help her out”

“Look” she pleads, “I really don’t make a habit of finding injured animals.  Or of knocking over the only vet in town” she continues. “It’s just been one of those weeks”

“OK, I believe you. I am a bit busy this afternoon but I really do need to talk to you about the cat and what we are going to do about him. Can you come back at the end of the day and we can have a chat”

She seemed to blush again at that suggestion and got all fidgety but agreed to calling back later. Standing up she turned to Jean and apologised again for any trouble she had caused. Jean, understandng as ever waved away the apology and wiped away her tears. “Im just so pleased to have him back. Thank you”

She backed out of the surgery still apologising and narrowly missing knocking over Mrs O’Leary who was heading in with her guinea pig, Celia. “That woman is a liability” I mutter to Jean as I head back into the surgery with my belly rumbling. Through the window I spot Will skulking along behind Purple Boots in the direction of the park. No doubt they are off to make more wishes. Lets hope that I don’t get mixed up in them.

 

to be continued.

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

